Australian Thoroughbred

A-Z of Australian Horse Racing and Breeding.

Feature Australian Horse Races: Cox Plate

Cox Plate 
Cox Plate
Race Details
Date:October 28
Time: 5:00 pm
Racecourse:Moonee Valley racecourse
Race Distance:2040m
Conditions:Weight For Age
Prize Money:$3,000,000

Notable winners:

Past winners of the Cox Plate include many of the champion racehorses of Australia and New Zealand. Many great horses have won the race twice, including Phar Lap, Flight, Tobin Bronze, Sunline, Northerly, Fields of Omagh, So You Think and Winx. Kingston Town won the race three times.

Only one horse has ever won the race in the same year as winning the Melbourne and Caulfield cups, Rising Fast (1954), considered by many to be the greatest-ever horse from New Zealand.

The double with the Melbourne Cup has only been achieved by six horses: Makybe Diva, Might and Power, Saintly, Nightmarch, Phar Lap, and Rising Fast.

Only three horses have ever won the Melbourne Cup and then gone on to win the W.S. Cox Plate the following year: Phar Lap, Might and Power and Makybe Diva.